Manorexia: The Radiolarian Ooze

Release Information

CD Oct2002 EctEnts 024 Made in the US

Track Listing

Purchase MP3

01. Planet Of The Aches
02. The Harpoon Jockey
03. Backwards From “Z”
04. Confessions Of Zsolt Vadaszffy
05. Fluorescent Radiation
06. Canaries In The Mineshaft
07. The Edison Medicine
08. Ataxia [11:54]
09. Chloe Dont Know Im Alive
10. Cosmos Brutile
11. Armadillo Stance
12. Self Inflicted Concussions…

Linear Notes

In the booklet: “Manorexia II: The Radiolarian Ooze”

On the CD: “Manorexia II” Refers to the fact, that this is the second album by Manorexia.

From the back cover: “Certain musical elements on this album may cause the listener to believe this disc is faulty”

Below the tracklisting on the back cover there is a barely readable note possibly referring to the last track: “(suffered as a result of anguish during the course of the search for the airplane girl… or someone just like her)”

Release Notes

The Radiolarian Ooze is the second album from Manorexia. It was released in 2002 by Ectopic Ents.

Like its predecessor, Volvox Turbo, The Radiolarian Ooze is self-distributed by J. G. Thirlwell and sold exclusively at the Official Foetus Shop.


Eerie soundscapes and warped ambience from that nice Mr Foetus.

ONE OF these days someone will make a film that is sufficiently surreal and macabre to suit the harrowing strangeness that continues to emanate from the dark recesses of JG Thirlwell’s skull.  Manorexia, like the maverick loon’s Steroid Maximus project, make soundtracks for your filthiest dreams and most disturbing nightmares.

Best listened to on headphones, in a room lit only by powerful, eye-popping strobelights, The Radiolarian Ooze is as warped and compelling as any of Thirlwell’s Foetus output, and twice as unfathomable.  If only the countless lesser talents who trail in the great man’s wake had this much imagination; sounds with this much evocative power and atmospheric intelligence are woefully few and far between.
Original source: Kerrang!, Dom Lawson

© 2003 Kerrang!