Manorexia: Dinoflagellate Blooms

Release Information

EctEnts 034

Stereo CD and 5.1 DVD

Initial quantities come with a free 4×5 Manorexia sticker signed by JG Thirlwell.

Track Listing

Purchase CD | Purchase MP3

01. Cryogenics
02. Anabiosis
03. Ten Ton Shadow
04. Krzystl
05. A Plastic Island In The Pacific
06. Hydrofrack
07. The Perfect Patsy
08. Hoarse Platitudes
09. Vika
10. Kinaesthesia
11. Struck

Release Notes

Dinoflagellate Blooms features eleven compositions composed, produced and performed by JG Thirlwell. The package includes a CD of the album in stereo, and a DVD with the album in glorious, immersive 5.1 surround sound.

The album careens between soft plucked interludes to full blown symphonic frenzy, from musiq concrete nightmares to cinematic mindfields, with a meticulous marriage of samples and live instruments, distressed sounds and mysterious unknown quantities.

Begun in Berlin in 2005, the album was recorded at Thirlwell’s Self Immolation studios in Brooklyn, and the 5.1 mixes were made at Harvestworks Studio with Paul Geluso. The album follows the release of last year’s acclaimed Mesopelagic Waters on John Zorn’s Tzadik label, which was performed by Manorexia as a chamber ensemble. Manorexia will be performing in October 2011 with Portishead at All Tomorrow’s Parties event in Asbury Park,NJ.