JG Thirlwell and Simon Steensland: Oscillospira

Release Information

ECT ENTS 040 |  Ipecac Recordings | April 2020 | Available on CD and Double Vinyl

Track Listing

1.  Catholic Deceit
2.  Heron
3.  Night Shift
4.  Papal Stain
5.  Heresy Flank
6.  Mare
7.  Crystal Night
8.  Redbug

Release Notes

JG Thirlwell and Swedish multi-instrumentalist and theater music composer Simon Steensland collaborate on a new album Oscillospira which is released on Mike Patton’s label Ipecac Recordings. Different yet complementary, both creators make idiosyncratic music that can be characterized by dramatic intensity, shadowy suspense, darkness and light, sometimes breathtaking and always evocative cinematics. Oscillospira is an odyssey of dark chamber prog with a cinematic bent. The extraordinary drummer Morgan Ågren (Mats/Morgan band, Zappa, Devin Townsend etc) plays on all the tracks, bringing them to life in an explosive manner. The record also includes contributions from a variety of guest musicians playing oboe, bass clarinet, violin, voice and further sonic embellishments to enrich the album.