JG Thirlwell's "Imponderable" soundtrack out now!

IMPONDERABLE_front_site_2We are excited to announce the release of JG Thirlwell‘s soundtrack to the Tony Oursler film, Imponderable. The film Imponderable is currently being exhibited as a “5-D” cinematic installation at the Museum of Modern Art (from Jun 18 2016 – April 16 2017). The 14 track soundtrack album is available now on CD and digitally. The CD is packaged in a deluxe digipack with silver foil lettering and a 48 page color booklet containing stills from the film and images from Oursler’s archive of supernatural and occult phenomena. You can hear previews from the album here.

Tony Oursler is a renowned multimedia and video artist whose art covers a range of mediums. He and Thirlwell have collaborated on several other projects in the past, including Sound Digressions in Seven Colors (2006), and Oursler also produced acclaimed work for David Bowie, including videos and stage sets. Oursler’s works have been exhibited in many institutions including the Tate Modern, Centre Pompidou, MOCA Los Angeles, Hirshhorn Museum, Whitney Museum, Venice Bienale and elsewhere.

The album is available NOW exclusively from the Foetus Shoppe  and at the Museum of Modern Art.

Melvins and JGT seven inch David Bowie tribute

10006970_10152182395115939_3158799593475516820_nA seven inch tribute to David Bowie by Melvins will be released Monday April 14 2014. The lead vocal duties on both sides of the single are handled by JG Thirlwell. The tracks on the single are “Station To Station” and “Breaking Glass”. This limited edition of 500 on Amphetamine Reptile features cover art by HAZE XXL & Mackie. It’s on clear red vinyl with white splatters, and is already sold out. A longer version of “Station To Station” is available on the 2013 album Everybody Loves Sausages on Ipecac. The version of “Breaking Glass” is exclusive to the seven inch release.

JG vs Melvins vs Bowie

627The cat’s out of the bag : JG Thirlwell is appearing on the new Melvins album, lending his vocal talents to a cover David Bowie’s “Station to Station”. The album also features guests Scott Kelly of Neurosis, Caleb Benjamin of Tweak Bird, Mark Arm, Jello Biafra and many more. The album is all cover versions, featuring their interpretations of songs from artists ranging from Roxy Music and Queen to Throbbing Gristle and Venom.

The album will be released on April 30 on Ipecac Records.

Track listing is as follows

01. Warhead – Venom (feat. Scott Kelly)
02. Best Friend—Queen (feat. Caleb Benjamin)
03. Black Betty—Unknown
04. Set It On Fire—The Scientists (feat. Mark Arm)
05. Station To Station—David Bowie (J.G. Thirlwell)
06. Attitude—The Kinks (feat. Clem Burke)
07. Female Trouble—Divine (Melvins Lite)
08. Carpe Diem—The Fugs
09. Timothy Leary Lives—Pop-O-Pies (Melvins Lite)
10. In Every Dream Home A Heartache—Roxy Music (feat. Jello Biafra and Kevin Rutmanis)
11. Romance—Tales Of Terror (Melvins Lite)
12. Art School—The Jam (feat. Tom Hazelmeyer)
13. Heathen Earth—Throbbing Gristle